(by Mark Manson)

Chapter 1: Don't Try

The Feedback Loop from Hell

The Subtle Art of Not Giving a Fuck

So Mark, What the Fuck Is the Point of This Book Anyway?

Chapter 2: Happiness Is a Problem

The Misadventures of Disappointment Panda

Happiness Comes from Solving Problems

Emotions are Overrated

Choose Your Struggle

Chapter 3: You Are Not Special

Things Fall Apart

The Tyranny of Exceptionalism

B-b-b-but If I'm Not Going to Be Special or Extraordinary, What's the Point?

Chapter 4: The Value of Suffering

The Self-Awareness Onion

Rock Star Problems

Shitty Values

Defining Good and Bad Values

Chapter 5: You Are Always Choosing

The Choice

The Responsibility/Fault Fallacy

Responding to Tragedy

Genetics and the Hand We're Dealt

Victimhood Chic

There Is No "How"

Chapter 6: You're Wrong About Everything (But So Am I)

Architects of Our Own Beliefs

The Dangers of Pure Certainty

Manson's Law of Avoidance

Kill Yourself

How to Be a Little Less Certain of Yourself

Chapter 7: Failure Is the Way Forward

The Failure/Success Paradox

Pain Is Part of the Process

The "Do Something" Principle

Chapter 8: The Importance of Saying No

Rejection Makes Your Life Better


How to Build Trust

Freedom Through Commitment

Chapter 9: ... And Then You Die

Something Beyond Our Selves

The Sunny Side of Death

Tags: reading   thinking   people  

Last modified 06 April 2022